Analyst Dojo vs the CFA Institute Learning Ecosystem for CFA Level 1
The Learning Ecosystem holds the official curriculum, the source the exam is written from, along with official practice questions and mock exams. Analyst Dojo is an independent study guide that teaches the same learning outcomes in its own words. For most candidates the answer is to use both. Here is what each one does well.
Facts about other providers checked on from their own public pages. Prices and packages change, so confirm with the provider before you buy.
At a glance
CFA Institute Learning Ecosystem: The Learning Ecosystem is CFA Institute's own online study platform. Every registered candidate gets it with their exam registration.
Analyst Dojo: a free, independent CFA Level I study guide. All 102 learning modules are taught exam-first in 430 short lessons, with an interactive for every idea and a checkpoint after every lesson. Optional paid plans add more practice, offline study and Sensei, a voice tutor.
The main differences
- Source: the Learning Ecosystem is the official curriculum. Analyst Dojo is independent and not affiliated with CFA Institute; it teaches the same learning outcomes in its own words and examples.
- Access: the Learning Ecosystem comes with registration. Analyst Dojo is free to use before you register, and with no account.
- Exam rehearsal: CFA Institute's official mock exams are written by the exam body itself. Analyst Dojo has no full-length mock exam yet.
Side by side
| What you get | Analyst Dojo | CFA Institute Learning Ecosystem |
|---|---|---|
| Price for Level I | Free. Optional monthly plans: Plus USD 19 a month, Sensei USD 149 a month (founding price; regular USD 199). | Included with exam registration, which starts at USD 1,140 per exam (see CFA Institute's dates and fees). An optional Practice Pack costs extra. |
| How you study | 430 short written lessons covering all 102 Level I learning modules, with an interactive for every idea, plus Cram mode, a formula sheet and cheat sheets. | The full official curriculum online, with curriculum-based flashcards and a study planner, on the web and in a mobile app. A print curriculum can be bought after registering. |
| Practice questions | A checkpoint after every lesson (1,840 questions in all), plus practice from a full question bank: 30 a day free, no daily limit on Plus. | 1,000+ practice questions. The optional Practice Pack adds 1,000 more at Level I. |
| Full-length mock exams | None yet. | Two official mock exams, released about 60 days before each exam window. The Practice Pack adds five more, plus one on the Prometric exam software. |
| Video or audio teaching | No video. Sensei, the paid voice tutor, teaches every module aloud and answers when you interrupt. Every account can try it on one module. | Not stated on their pages |
| Live help and teaching | No live teaching. Ask Sensei answers questions by text: 5 a day free, 30 on Plus, 100 on Sensei. | Not stated on their pages |
| If you do not pass | No guarantee. The lessons are free, and paid plans are monthly, so you can cancel any time. | Not stated on their pages |
| Free option | Every lesson, interactive and checkpoint, with no account and no time limit. | No free version. It comes with exam registration. |
| How long you have access | The free lessons stay free. Paid plans run month to month. | Not stated on their pages |
Who should choose CFA Institute Learning Ecosystem
- You are registered: you already have it, and the official mock exams are the closest rehearsal for the real exam.
- You want the complete curriculum text, with every reading in full depth.
- You want the exam body's own practice questions.
Who should choose Analyst Dojo
- You have not registered yet and want to see what Level I involves.
- You find the curriculum long, and want each learning outcome taught exam-first in a short lesson.
- You learn by doing: an interactive for every idea and a checkpoint after every lesson.
Using both
It is not either-or. Read the short lesson here first, use the curriculum when you want more depth, and save the official mock exams for your final weeks. You can open the study map and start any lesson without an account.
What we left out
We only list facts we could confirm on CFA Institute Learning Ecosystem's own pages. These we could not:
- The Practice Pack price: not shown on CFA Institute's public pages, so we left it out.
- Exact registration fees vary by exam window and registration deadline; CFA Institute's dates and fees page has the current figures.
More comparisons
Sources
Checked on October 18, 2026. Analyst Dojo's own details come from our plans and pricing page and our lesson library.
- CFA Institute: CFA Program Learning Ecosystem
- CFA Institute: Practice Pack
- CFA Institute: mock exam and practice questions
- CFA Institute: Level I exam (print curriculum)
- CFA Institute: dates and fees
Spotted something out of date or wrong? Tell us and we will check it and fix it.