Analyst Dojo

Analyst Dojo vs Mark Meldrum for CFA Level 1

Mark Meldrum's course is built on long-form video lectures with live office hours and a guarantee of updated content until you pass. Analyst Dojo is a free set of interactive written lessons with optional paid plans. Here is how they compare, and when Mark Meldrum is the better pick.

Facts about other providers checked on from their own public pages. Prices and packages change, so confirm with the provider before you buy.

At a glance

Mark Meldrum: Mark Meldrum sells CFA video courses that follow CFA Institute's curriculum learning outcome by learning outcome, in self-study and instructor-led packages.

Analyst Dojo: a free, independent CFA Level I study guide. All 102 learning modules are taught exam-first in 430 short lessons, with an interactive for every idea and a checkpoint after every lesson. Optional paid plans add more practice, offline study and Sensei, a voice tutor.

The main differences

  • Cost: every Analyst Dojo lesson is free. Mark Meldrum's Level I packages start at USD 440.
  • Teaching: Mark Meldrum teaches through detailed video lectures that track the curriculum closely. Analyst Dojo teaches in short written lessons with an interactive for every idea, and an optional voice tutor.
  • Support: Mark Meldrum includes live office hours, mentor hours and a guarantee of updated content until you pass. Analyst Dojo has Ask Sensei for text questions but no live teaching and no guarantee.

Side by side

Mark Meldrum details checked on October 18, 2026. "Not stated on their pages" means we could not confirm it, so we left it out.
What you getAnalyst DojoMark Meldrum
Price for Level I Free. Optional monthly plans: Plus USD 19 a month, Sensei USD 149 a month (founding price; regular USD 199). 2027 Level I packages: Self-Study USD 440, Self-Study + Applied Analysis USD 750, Instructor-Led Online USD 1,310, Instructor-Led Online + Applied Analysis USD 1,630.
How you study 430 short written lessons covering all 102 Level I learning modules, with an interactive for every idea, plus Cram mode, a formula sheet and cheat sheets. Video lectures that follow the curriculum learning outcome by learning outcome, with lecture PDF notes, a formula sheet and a mobile app that plays videos offline.
Practice questions A checkpoint after every lesson (1,840 questions in all), plus practice from a full question bank: 30 a day free, no daily limit on Plus. Quizzes for select readings, plus video walkthroughs of the curriculum's end-of-chapter questions.
Full-length mock exams None yet. Online mock exams (AM and PM sessions) with automatic grading and a benchmark against other candidates. The number is not stated.
Video or audio teaching No video. Sensei, the paid voice tutor, teaches every module aloud and answers when you interrupt. Every account can try it on one module. A full video course in every package, plus seminar videos on harder topics.
Live help and teaching No live teaching. Ask Sensei answers questions by text: 5 a day free, 30 on Plus, 100 on Sensei. Live office hours and six mentor hours in every package. Instructor-Led Online packages add live classes and unlimited instructor comments; Self-Study allows up to 10 questions to instructors.
If you do not pass No guarantee. The lessons are free, and paid plans are monthly, so you can cancel any time. One-Fee-To-Pass: updated content until you pass the level, covering unsuccessful attempts and deferrals (an exam registration receipt is required).
Free option Every lesson, interactive and checkpoint, with no account and no time limit. A free trial, with no credit card needed.
How long you have access The free lessons stay free. Paid plans run month to month. Each package runs to a set date after its exam window (the May 2027 Self-Study package expires May 25, 2027). Reading videos stay in an archive for 3 years after that.

Who should choose Mark Meldrum

  • You learn best from a teacher explaining things at length on video.
  • You want live office hours and the option of live classes.
  • You want updated materials until you pass, with no new fee.

Who should choose Analyst Dojo

  • You want to study the whole Level I curriculum without paying.
  • You prefer short written lessons you can skim, with a checkpoint after each one.
  • You want to try a lesson right now, with no account.

Using both

The two can work side by side. Use Analyst Dojo's checkpoints and interactives to test yourself on a module after watching the lectures on it. You can open the study map and start any lesson without an account.

What we left out

We only list facts we could confirm on Mark Meldrum's own pages. These we could not:

  • The pricing page does not say how many mock exams are included, or what the Applied Analysis add-on contains, so we do not describe either.
  • Package expiry dates differ by exam window; the one quoted is an example from the Self-Study page.

More comparisons

Sources

Checked on October 18, 2026. Analyst Dojo's own details come from our plans and pricing page and our lesson library.

Spotted something out of date or wrong? Tell us and we will check it and fix it.

Analyst Dojo Plus

Your free review list holds 10 items.

Plus keeps everything you save, for USD 19 a month. To make room on the free plan, remove something from your review list.

See Plus

Lessons, checkpoints and the lesson questions in practice stay free. Compare plans